Too skinny chest but still need to lose fat on bottom - what to do?

Options
Hi all, I'm fairly new to MFP though I've been here before... Now making another start at getting healthy and losing some weight. I'm not obese but slightly overweight and flabby at 169cm/65kg - i.e. need to change body composition. I'm currently eating at a deficit and trying to get a decent amount of exercise (doing couch to 5k and squats, push ups, abs at home) to help weight loss and prevent as far as possible muscle loss. I rely more on the mirror than scales to chart progress :)

I have a very specific problem - not sure if I should address it here or on the fitness board..

I am a classic pear shape in that when I lose weight it goes from the top half first, and particularly from my chest. I have prominent collarbones that start sticking out and you can also see my ribs a little (not much boobage...) My arms look fine - not excessively skinny - but there is still some excess fat on my hips and thighs.

How do you deal with this? When I reach this stage, do I just keep going even though my top half is "too thin", in the hope that the fat will come off the thighs eventually, too? Or will my top half look skeletal before I get there?

The skinny chest is not that attractive either, would building muscle in that area make an appreciable difference? I can't afford a gym at the moment.

Thanks for any and all help!
Botticelligirl

Replies

• Caletara
    Caletara Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    I would start doing more weight lifting. That way you can gain more muscle on your chest. Make sure you're using progressively heavier weights and lifting to muscle exhaustion. Maybe try some calf raises and other leg exercises besides squats. It will happen eventually!

Since you can't afford a gym, try lifting items you have at home, or see if you can find weights for cheap. Target or Walmart usually has good deals :) My cat weighs 14 lbs. If she stays still she makes for good squatting!