How do I increase my water intake???

Options
Sort of a silly question. Trying to figure out how to incorporate more water into my day, especially during the week. Problem is that the least amount of water sends me to the bathroom. I am a social worker who makes home visits Monday-Friday and it is very difficult sometimes to get to a bathroom since I live/work in a rural area. And stressing over how to get to a bathroom sends my anxiety into overdrive. Soda does not seem to cause this problem, only water. Any suggestions? Does your bladder get more used to the water over time? Thanks.

Replies

• IsaackGMOON
    IsaackGMOON Posts: 3,358 Member
    Options
    Drink more water?
  • whirlygig60
    whirlygig60 Posts: 37 Member
    Options
    Can you ask the homeowner to use their restroom?
  • lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    Options
    Does your bladder get more used to the water over time? Thanks.

Yes, I find that when I increase the amount of plain water I drink I tend to need to go to the restroom more at first but then I adjust. I used to avoid water on planes because I hate having to go to the bathroom on one, but now it's fine. (I had the same thing where for some reason water would seem to run through me faster.)

Can you scope out possible bathroom options or is your route not similar enough daily? Gas stations tend to be good options, Starbucks, so on.
  • candigurl322
    candigurl322 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I do, quite often actually lol. Some I won't, but the majority are clean and safe. Often have to drive 30 mins to an hour between visits, which is the problem. :#
  • candigurl322
    candigurl322 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Yes, I have my restrooms mapped out in the areas I'm traveling in. That does help, I guess I just find myself getting frustrated at my body for not being able to, well, "hold it in better." I think maybe increasing my water gradually may be the best option to allow my body time to adjust.