Gaining muscle, but not losing mass

Options
Hello everyone! I am looking for some fresh, new ideas - I have been doing Crossfit for 12 months now, and have built some amazing muscle and lost a little over 20 pounds. However, I've been at a plateau since February. I continue to see new and stronger muscles, but haven't really lost any more weight or "mass". My pants are baggy, but I'm not down another size yet. Any tips? Tricks? Secrets? Any help is appreciated - thank you!

Replies

• yopeeps025
    yopeeps025 Posts: 8,680 Member
    Options
    You are eating at maintenance calories but since February. That is a long time to not being reaching closer to you goals. Have you changed anything since February?
  • juggernaut1974
    juggernaut1974 Posts: 6,212 Member
    Options
    Hello everyone! I am looking for some fresh, new ideas - I have been doing Crossfit for 12 months now, and have built some amazing muscle and lost a little over 20 pounds. However, I've been at a plateau since February. I continue to see new and stronger muscles, but haven't really lost any more weight or "mass". My pants are baggy, but I'm not down another size yet. Any tips? Tricks? Secrets? Any help is appreciated - thank you!

Not sure what exactly you're looking for. But we do need to clear up a couple misconceptions:

You're not 'building amazing muscle" and "losing over 20 lbs" at the same time. The two are polar opposites. Building muscle (as in building new muscle mass) requires eating at or above maintenance calories. Losing weight requires eating below maintenance calories.

I don't doubt that you've built some strength, and the fat loss probably makes the muscles you had previously become more visible. But you didn't build substantial new muscle mass.