Starting swimming

Options
Hi all - I am recovering from ankle surgery and so can't do the usual things like running, squats, biking, etc. I'm doing mat pilates and enjoying that but I'd like to add in something else. My PT has approved me to try swimming, but I've never done it before and honestly, I'm super nervous. How do I know what the proper pool etiquette is? How do I stay in my lane? What gear do I need? I don't even own a swimsuit.

Any advice from any swimmers out there, especially newbies who have overcome their fears of trying something new?

Replies

• msujack
    msujack Posts: 84 Member
    Options
    You only need a swimsuit to swim. Goggles are nice to keep the water out of your eyes. Do you know how to swim? If not, you should take some classes at a local community pool. If you do, don't worry about being fast, most places have specific lanes marked for slow, med, fast.
  • cheshirecatastrophe
    cheshirecatastrophe Posts: 1,395 Member
    Options
    Come join us in the Swimmers group! We have lots of active and supportive members, from former Division 1 athletes to adult beginners. :)

Equipment: a good competition swimsuit, a silicon swim cap, goggles. I like swimoutlet.com for cheap prices and good service. Speedo and Tyr are the go-to brands. Waterpro swimsuits are dirt cheap and cute but don't last as long.

Lap swim time should have lane lines marking off lanes. At some pools, they'll be labeled slow-med-fast; otherwise, just jump in. If you're sharing a lane with one other person, typically you'll "split" the lane and each take a side. 3+ people is "circle swim"--you always swim on the right side, creating a circle as you go back and forth.

YMCAs and many gym pools often have adult swim classes. Not just for people who can't even tread water, but for stroke technique. There are also some really excellent YouTube videos to help you out there.