Should you workout while you're still sore?

Options
2»

Replies

• DavPul
    DavPul Posts: 61,406 Member
    Options
    walterc7 wrote: »
    DavPul wrote: »
    Completely and totally disagree. With virtually every word.

1. complete noobs don't understand what their body is saying
    2. Avoiding working out is the best way to ensure that the soreness lasts a week instead of a couple days
    3. Soreness is just soreness. Warm up, start slow and you'll get thru your workout perfectly fine
    4. The best way to stick to a plan is by sticking with a plan, not taking extra days off willy nilly. A well written plan already incorporated appropriate rest
    5. The soreness from the first workout or two is the WORST, but some soreness will pretty much always be there, even after adaptation. Just not nearly at the levels of day 1.
    6. Noobs don't know what "feels wrong" means. Hence their atrocious form

You're kidding, right? Even a complete noob knows when something feels wrong. Hell, a child knows. You do not have to be an expert to realize oh *kitten* my back really hurts when I pick this weight up, it feels painful when I do shoulder presses, or my knees really hurt when I squat. Injuries come when people ignore these obvious signs because Davpaul says disregard them, and then they continue to further aggravate their issues.

Last week I saw two beginners deadlifting. By second set I could see they were both in obvious pain so I went over there and helped them out - taught them how to stop hyperextending their lumbar by maintain a neutral spine and brace their core. But they should have continued with what they were doing until they eventually blew a disc out, right? :) You "completely and totally disagree" that they should have listened to their body's pain signals and fixed what they were doing wrong.