When Should I Stop Gaining?

Options
Hey,

I have been bulking up now for three months. I have gained about 10-12lbs (148-150 now) and have definitely seen increases in all of my major lifts (up to about 225 in Deadlift, over 250 in squat, approaching 205 in bench) and people are saying I am filling out well. I personally don't see a difference as all my clothes seem to fit the same to me and my weekly pictures in my opinion don't seem to different. I do notice a change in my thighs and butt areas though. My question is, how do I know when to end this bulk? I am not particularly keen on doing a bulk cut cycle, I felt like my weight was too low for my height (5'8) and just wanted to gain weight and get stronger. But I don't think I have a good sense of how I look so can't evaluate reasonably when I have put on too much. Does anyone have an objective place where I should end my bulk? My waist size seems to be sitting at approx 29.5" at the moment and chest is around 36-37 inches.

Replies

• ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,523 Member
    Options
    You stop when you've believed you've done enough. It may be at 20lbs. Really only you know when you are satisfied.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png
  • dpr73
    dpr73 Posts: 495 Member
    Options
    ninerbuff wrote: »
    You stop when you've believed you've done enough. It may be at 20lbs. Really only you know when you are satisfied.

IDEA Fitness member

9285851.png

The thing is, I could always be stronger in my opinion but again, I would usually stop when I see in the mirror I have put on enough. But I really have trouble seeing these changes. Do you think I should continue on to 160 and see how I feel at that? Again, all my clothes still fit though some over my smaller shorts fit a little more snugly in the thigh and butt
  • AsISmile