Fasted cardio vs. regular cardio

Options
My goal is to lose weight and I've heard people say faster cardio burns more fat than regular cardio. Any advice?

Replies

• KittensMaster
    KittensMaster Posts: 748 Member
    Options
    It can...

If you have depleted your glycogen stores a bit, then your mitochondria will source a slightly higher percentage of fat as fuel.

It is an endurance athlete thing.

You can google endurance training mitochondria

You will get hundreds of hits. It is not new at all and a biology thing not a diet fad

I have been doing that for 6 months now building up my ability to burn fat as fuel.

Your mitochondria is an adaptive organelle and designed to do exactly that

I have found doing this works better when eating low to moderate carb and doing long duration cardio

My method of exercise is cycling for getting fat as fuel adapted. After work on non-lifting days I average 80 miles a week. Seems to be enough to make a difference. I can do a 40-50 mile ride with 2 x 120 calorie electrolyte packs now.

17fxv708mft4.jpg

• adawson55510
    adawson55510 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    There's always a bit a debate on this topic so IMO and for me lol Morning fasted cardio works very well its a really good start to the day for me leaves me hungry for a good breakfast and my food seems to digest better throughout the day so its my prefered way to do it. :)
  • WhatMeRunning
    WhatMeRunning Posts: 3,538 Member
    Options
    I can't recall where I have seen this exactly, but some research indicated that alternating between fasted and non-fasted runs within a running plan with lots of long, easy miles was the best way to "train" your cells to burn more fat than they have been accustomed to. Just food for thought.

I do basically all of my morning runs in a fasted state, but that is simply because I don't want to wake up even earlier to fit in a pre-run meal.
  • cajuntank
    cajuntank Posts: 924 Member
    edited August 2015
    Options