Feel free to critique- Deadlift

Options
5+ day on Wendler's 531 for deadlifts.
255 for 10. Getting feedback from other sites too but always looking for feedback.

Maybe not the best angle but the only one I could get the camera situated.

Replies

• deluxmary2000
    deluxmary2000 Posts: 981 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert but your upper back looks too rounded.
  • rileyes
    rileyes Posts: 1,404 Member
    edited September 2015
    Options
    HEY! We're filming here! That guy. (He even walked in on cue to another song!)

I'm no expert either. I wonder if you are too tall to get a nice smooth hinge at the hips. It looks like your quads and upper back are doing more work than your hams and lower core. Have you tried sticking your butt out as far as possible while pushing your chest up? That may help with any rounding mentioned.

It may help to get some glute accessory work in like barbell hip thrusts and elevated single leg glute marches if you think you may be quad dominant.

• Karen_can_do_this
    Karen_can_do_this Posts: 1,150 Member
    Options
    I can't give you any advice but I just wanted to say that I love your calf definition!
  • rileyes
    Options
  • brotundkase
    brotundkase Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    I agree with the comments above. I think you have great form, but you should keep your back from rounding. You could focus on lifting your chest to keep your back neutral.
  • ndj1979
    ndj1979 Posts: 29,139 Member
    Options
    OP - I think you need to drop your hips down a tad, push your *kitten* out, and tighten up your core, and your grip on the bar ….you want to be really "tight' at the beginning of the movement. If you do all that it should help you straighten out your back ….
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,526 Member
    Options
    Drop your butt down a little more and keep your shoulders "packed" (pulled back) to help keep your back from rounding.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer