How long must you lift before gains are no longer "newbie" gains?

Options
I read this a lot - that beginning lifters get PR's all the time because of the "newbie" gains. And then it tapers off. From that point on, it seems if you're making gains, they're "real" strength gains - as in adding muscle mass. But I never hear anyone give a timeline for this phenomenon. Is it 3 years? 5 years of training? When are the newbie gains really over?

I've been lifting for just over two years, 3x per week, heavy. Started with StrongLifts 5x5 and have transitioned to a more DUP-style over the last few months. At the tail end of June I hit 1,000 lbs. combined weight on deadlift/bench/squat. Last week I hit three PR's (two on squat, one on deadlift), and when I tallied up my lifts I was at 1,075 lbs. combined for the three. So I've gained 75 lbs. on the three lifts over the past 10 weeks, which makes me really happy, but also makes me wonder: am I still on the "newbie" gain train? Is that why I'm still seeing progress like this?

I'd probably have a better answer for myself if I had taken measurements long ago when I started this journey, but I did not. And I'm just curious: are my gains, after two years of lifting, more due to increased muscle size and strength, or am I still dealing with newbie gains?

Thoughts, comments, all thanks.

Replies

• jersey_54
    jersey_54 Posts: 278 Member
    Options
    Yea you aren't newbie anymore brah, More like intermediate or advanced level. And that's normal rate on lifts brah, keep killin it. It means you doing it right, Noob gains usually stop after 3 months
  • DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    Options