Anyone into mountaineering?

Options
I'm a 20 year old female about to go into my final year of university and I'm considering joining the university's mountaineering club. I'm a complete beginner with no experience, so would love to hear from anyone who is into mountaineering (or used to be into it) about their experiences?

I loved climbing when I was a kid (trees, the occasional climbing wall), and I absolutely adore mountainous scenery, etc. and the idea of trekking in that sort of environment really appeals to me. Plus it would help me become more active and fit.

How long does it take to get to grips with the basics? Just how intense is it? Also, I'm a bit worried that equipment, etc. would be really expensive.

Would love to hear from you!

Replies

• andylllI
    andylllI Posts: 379 Member
    Options
    It depends what you want to do.

Maybe start with scrambling. To do a scramble all you need is hiking stuff plus a rock climbing helmet.

Consider rock climbing. Investment for indoor: harness + shoes + gym fees. Many universities have a climbing or bouldering wall in their athletic facilities.

For actual mountaineering...say day summits depending on the terrain you are going to need both a lot of equipment and knowledge/ experience. I started by climbing and scrambling. Then I took a summer mountaineering course over a week. It cost about 1-1.5K. I had to buy crampons, an ice ax, and a glacier rescue setup (a bunch of biners, cordalette and an ATC). Over time ive acquired ice screws, snow pickets, twin ropes, a dry single rope, and also sometimes take part of my trad climbing rack depending on the route.

Mountaineering is technical. You can expect to acquire and perfect your skills over many many years. My husband and I did a short day route this summer that involved hiking, glacier travel, scrambling, one short technical pitch that we short roped, and then rappeled on the descent.