Any ex smokers starting running with success? I quit 28 days ago and want to start running

Options
Hi Guys

I quit smoking 28 days ago after smoking 20 a day for nearly twenty years, I want to start running but I have read in lots of places that high impact exercise can actually cause cell damage in new ex smokers because of the oxidation. Does anyone have any tips on how to become a decent runner eventually from being a total beginner?

Replies

• JustMissTracy
    JustMissTracy Posts: 6,339 Member
    Options
    Hi Belleamore, good for YOU! That is awesome news!! I smoked for 23 years...quit 10 years ago....the best advice I can give is start slow, and listen to your body...the good thing is, after a few months of not smoking, your body begins to repair the damage that was caused to it over those 20 years....YOU CAN DO IT! Ooo! Where's the thread about "what made you smile today"....THIS IS IT!!!! xoxo
  • kmab1985
    kmab1985 Posts: 295 Member
    Options
    I've been smoke free now for 1 year and the reason I stopped was because I started going running with my husband...for me it didnt take long before I noticed how easier it was getting and I just listened to my body,we would run home from work which was about 3k,some nights I had to stop once or twice but didnt take me long til I was running with no stops...I then joined a gym and although I no longer,I do 5 gym classes a week which are spinning twice,bodycombat,GRIT,kettlebells...I too was a 20 a day smoker and prior to quitting I had been smoking for16 years...theres no way I could do what I do now if I still smoked...well done you! And dont believe all these things u read,they are just scams to keep a smoker hooked! After all if a smoker gets scared or worried what do they do..Smoke!
  • PeachyCarol
    PeachyCarol Posts: 8,029 Member
    Options