How do you get 10,000 steps a day?

Options
I am a proud owner of a Fitbit flex and am challenging myself to achieve 10,000 steps a day on top of my exercise routine. I am a preschool teacher, during the week I more often than not reach my goal. But, on the weekend I fall way behind. I still do my exercise routine on the weekends. What are some ideas we have to get more steps in on days we don't work, or for mfp users who have a job that requires a lot of sitting?

Replies

• kindyteacher
    kindyteacher Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    I just do little tricks and my husband thinks I am nuts lol. If I go to the kitchen to get a drink I walk around the island a few times. Or if I am watching tv during the commercials I get up and walk around the living room. Also, when putting away laundry I fold it downstairs and put 1 room away at a time. Each time coming back downstairs to get the next rooms stuff (bathroom, kids room, my room).
  • hemster7
    hemster7 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    When out and about on the weekend, park your car the furthest away from the store/library/whatever.

Also, build in a walk each day of the weekend in your calendar. Making it routine and scheduled helps.
  • jennifer_417
    jennifer_417 Posts: 12,344 Member
    Options
    Set up a reward system. Say, if you get your steps in, you can take a nap. Or watch your favorite show, or whatever would motivate you.
  • fishshark
    fishshark Posts: 1,886 Member
    Options
    I don't work and do grad school everyday online so if I don't force myself to get the steps in I can go a whole day getting like 2k steps. I walk the dogs and walk around the neighborhood myself. If its the end of the day I will even just walk around the house haha.
  • Liftng4Lis
    Liftng4Lis Posts: 15,150 Member
    Options