Help with Nutrition PLEASE!

Options
So I'm new to this whole thing--I'm looking to lose 23 pounds. I'm not sure what calorie intake I should eat every day because the calculators I've tried online give me ALL different numbers. Is there a formula or something?
Also, I'm not sure what foods I should be eating/should stay away from. I am clueless on what percentage of macros I should be eating. I've read up on nutrition a ton, but I'm still confused as there are so many different websites that contradict each other and give me different tips/tricks. I know that I have to sort of figure out what works with my body, but where do I start? I am so overwhelmed right now but it's annoying because I'm determined to lose this weight and keep it off!
PLEASE HELP!

Replies

• lynn_glenmont
    lynn_glenmont Posts: 10,020 Member
    Options
    I thought you had to fill out a profile with your height, weight, gender, activity level, and goals (e.g., lose 1 lb per week) before you got an MFP account? It should have given you a calorie goal to shoot for every day when you did that.
  • vivmom2014
    vivmom2014 Posts: 1,647 Member
    Options
    My advice would be: don't rush. Put in your stats to lose .5 lb/week. That will give you a good amount of calories to work with, and you can earn more with exercise.

You can continue to eat all of the foods that you enjoy - just stay at/under your calorie goal. Eat a wide variety of foods - you don't need to stay away from anything (barring any medical conditions.)

Losing weight is not a complicated process. But it does require staying with it. There will be ups & downs, minor weight fluctuations, motivation will wane -- but stay with it. Slow & steady = success.
  • edean331
    edean331 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    ELIMINATE SUGAR, as much as you can :)