Help me Meal prep??

Hi all, trying to get back into the workout grind, so I have to get my diet in check as well.

Naturally, I want to start meal prepping at least my breakfasts and lunches.

Problems with that:

1: cooking is not my area of expertise

2: I'm a college student, so I need meals that are relatively easy to cook.

3: I don't even know where to start. I can start pinning away recipes on Pinterest all day, but that doesn't leave me with a lot of direction for which meals to cook.

4: I usually have lunch or dinner directly after working out, so I'm inclined to eat more than I normally would (you would too after 1.5hours in the gym). So I have to compensate for the higher amount of calories I'll inevitably eat.

I know im asking for a lot, but ANY advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Notes:
Trying to stay between 1800-2000 calories, working out 4x a week.
I got a stove, toaster oven, and a small rice cooker available to me, as well as a personal mini fridge.

Replies

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Do you have access to the cafeteria and other eating establishments on campus? Are you staying through the Christmas break?
  • Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    I'd suggest batch cooking casseroles / stews / chillis / soups etc and investing in tupperware to keep in your fridge

depends what you like

I like things like chicken cacciatore, meditteranean vegetable stews and beef chillis - you can cook enough to last a few days at a time

skinnytaste.com might be worth looking at

I'm more of a bung it cook to be honest

but invest in garlic and some dried herbs: I'd suggst thyme, basil, oregano, rosemary, chilli, bay leafs, salt and pepper and you'll have the basics for a number of dishes

eg chicken cacciatore -
    salt and pepper both sides of skinless, bone in chicken thighs (6-8)
    dry fry in non-stick pan until brown
    stick in casserole dish