wearing Fitbit on ankle?

Options
2»

Replies

• Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    Options
    Thank you everyone, very informative, although of course a lot of people will have very different opinions. But I get it, it doesn't seem beneficial to be wearing it on my ankle. And no, I don't want to look like I'm on house arrest, especially since I'm a teacher at a school where quite a few of my students are on it lol.

I'm not that worried about grocery shopping accuracy because that doesn't take up that much of my time and the calories I'd be burning don't amount to much.
    But I do walk my dogs every day, I have 2 German shepherds and I'm holding both leashes in my right hand. They walk very nicely, but I have to hold the leash with a strong grip (2 dogs equal to 170 lbs) so that arm doesn't swing. I guess maybe during that time I could put it on my left wrist? When I jog with just the one dog my arm can swing, so it's ok.

Most of my exercise calories come from taking Zumba, about 3-4 times / week, (and of course walking, and I'm gonna really start jogging regularly), and I assume with Zumba and the heart rate monitor, it should be pretty accurate.

Nope sorry, Zumba is probably closer to HIIT so an HRM to calorie calculation is not accurate ..take a percentage and adjust based on weight over time (6-8 weeks)
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,996 Member
    Options
    kshama2001 wrote: »

Interesting. I keep moving, but I do have to turn because the stairs are in a Z shape, so maybe that midpoint is enough to throw it off?

Not for my One - as long as I keep moving it records the fraction of the elevation change and gives me credit periodically.
  • Marianna93637
    Marianna93637 Posts: 230 Member
    Options
    rabbitjb wrote: »

Nope sorry, Zumba is probably closer to HIIT so an HRM to calorie calculation is not accurate ..take a percentage and adjust based on weight over time (6-8 weeks)