The breakfast debate

Options
2»

Replies

• WendyLaubach
    WendyLaubach Posts: 518 Member
    Options
    I take omeprazole for acid reflux (that's over-the-counter Nexium). A gastro doc told me earlier this year that it works properly only if you take it first thing in the morning and eat a little something 30 minutes later, to activate it. Sure enough, I've been doing that for about six months, and my symptoms have completely gone away after years of trouble. So I have to eat something for breakfast, but it needn't be much, maybe no more than a glass of juice or an egg. I'm happiest when my breakfast and lunch are moderate and I get a nice full dinner within my calorie budget. I don't get hungry or burned out during the day. Our primitive ancestors did lots of feasting and fasting as the dicey food supply warranted; I don't think this modern business of doling out the calories on a careful hourly schedule every day means much. Unless you try variations yourself and notice a real change, it's just a fad.
  • Carlos_421
    Carlos_421 Posts: 5,132 Member
    Options
    Physiologically, when you eat makes no difference from a weight loss standpoint. Only what you eat does (as in, how much).

Psychologically, eating at certain times may work better/worse for you. Do what works.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    I like breakfast...

giphy.gif
  • lcuconley
    lcuconley Posts: 734 Member
    Options
    cwolfman13 wrote: »
    I like breakfast...

giphy.gif

this!

Just as some people are more satisfied eating 8x a day and others prefer a 6-hour "refeeding" window...you have to do what works for you. If I did not eat until lunch, I would be so famished, I would make bad choices.
  • ahoy_m8
    ahoy_m8 Posts: 3,053 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options