New to MFP and healthy lifestyle - trying to understand calories in vs. calories out (deficit)

Options
Hi everyone,

I am new to MFP which I have connected to my Fitbit HR and need some help.

After putting all my information into the Fitbit and MFP (254.6 lbs to start looking to loose 1lbs per week and sedentary) gives me an allowance of 1200 calories per day - Food Eaten + Exercise = Remaining.

Since I am completely new to all things weight loss and healthy eating I am not clear on how many calories I should actually be eating and how many calories I should be burning per day to create the "deficit" people are talking about to make sure I am doing things the healthy way but also loosing weight.

An example would be I had 1,200 calories to be eaten - 1,460 calories (over my daily limit but pretty darn close) that were eaten but I burned 1,077 through out the day (naturally and by going to the gym) and according to MFP still had 817 remaining (this was in green writing) does this mean that I still have to burn more than the 817 to be in a deficit. Please see the picture attached.

Any help would greatly appreciated but if you could please use simple terms for the fitness challenged would be amazing.

mevyv3r7mahk.jpg

Replies

• pondee629
    pondee629 Posts: 2,469 Member
    Options
    No. The table above tells you that you still have 817 calories TO EAT and still in your deficit. Most here, however, will tell/advise you to eat only half your exercise calories, as they are often overstated. therefore, you are still in a deficit and can, with reasonable safety, have another 300, or so, calories. Enjoy.

Rule of thumb, calories remaining should be half of exercise calories.

At least, that's how I think it goes.
  • kgirlhart
    kgirlhart Posts: 5,035 Member
    Options