How to figure out Activity level In steps?

Options
iNikosaurus
iNikosaurus Posts: 26 Member
edited January 2016 in Health and Weight Loss
Hello everyone! I'm trying to figure out my activity level using steps. I have 3 apps running each day while I start my journey so I can average out my steps per week and per weekend as they greatly differ at those times. I've generally found that people believe:

Sedentary (less than 5,000)
Low active (5,000-7,499)
Somewhat active (7,500-9,999)
Active (10,000-12,499)
Highly active (12,500+)

The problem is, mfp only has 4 options so I'm sure the numbers are skewed a little bit. That or I simply take the first four and anything above 10k steps is considered highly active. Let me know what you think on it.

To go further, I'm using this to figure out my basic daily expenditure. On an average weekday I work as a full-time custodian who is on their feet for a solid 5 hours cleaning and whatnot. Then I walk my dog 2 times a day for about 20 mins each, rather briskly generally, but i clock in 2000 steps approximately each time. Then I have 25 minute from work at night to get home. All around I average about 13k on weekdays.

Weekends on the other hand I merely do some house chores, do my shopping and walk my dog 3 times for about 20 minutes each. I'm estimating that I'll have about 7k steps for weekends.

So as you see my activity level greatly changes from weekday to weekend.

Ad a side note, I am not exercising yet until my weight goes down more. I think I'm fairly active to get away with it for now. When I do exercise I will figure out how to go about it then. I'll likely not be eating them back unless I'm hungry or if my calories are too low.

Cheers, let me know what you think! Should I assume that mfp activity levels are the first in that list and highly active is 10k+?