How many calories should I be eating?

Options
Hi, Im new to this and recently I've been getting confused with calories. MFP gives me 1200 calories a day. Since I began eating healthy (nearly a month) I find myself finding it hard to meet my calorie goal! I am 5'3 and a half and 128 pounds. Before when I wasn't watching what I was eating I could have easily eaten 2000+! I go to the gym five days a week for about two hours doing cardio and strength. I know I am under eating but I am so full and all my snacks are healthy and low cal! I am worried my metabolism is slowing down! So does anyone know how many calories I should be eating or is around 1000 enough? Btw I want to get down to about 115-120 pounds and at the end of the day I am never hungry!

Replies

• ALittleBitLess1
    ALittleBitLess1 Posts: 119 Member
    Options
    can you open your food diary??
  • ladynocturne
    ladynocturne Posts: 865 Member
    Options
    If you want to lose weight safely and not kill your metabolism(and lose a lot of lean muscle mass) you need to Calculate your BMR and eat at least that many calories daily.

Your estimated BMR is: 1,338 calories/day.

So please eat at least 1340 calories a day if you do not exercise.

Eat 1340 calories a day + whatever you burn during exercise.

This will give you the safest daily deficit to lose weight.

You maintain on 1700 calories a day with no exercise. So.. you can eat more and not suddenly gain fat.
  • Bekahmardis
    Bekahmardis Posts: 602 Member
    Options
    SImply eat more calorie dense foods is all. Peanut butter, nuts, avocados, etc. Sometimes clean eating can sabotage us in the other direction if we're not careful, eh?
  • ALittleBitLess1
    Options
    my diary is not that exciting but feel free to have a look - are you eating 1000 cals or netting 1000 cals
  • RebeccaSarah16
    Options