The most uninformed award goes to...

Options
thatshistorical
thatshistorical Posts: 93 Member
I'm no expert, but I know enough to spot when someone needs an intervention on diet/exercise before they get hurt. This topic isn't to poke fun, but just go "WOW HOW DID THEY COME UP WITH THAT?"

I had an ex who insisted that 2000cal a day was for really tall people. She was 5'4". So she said she would eat 1000 calories (no real reason why.) from that, she thought she had to have a calorie deficit each day ON TOP of her BMR. So she "dieted" even lower, eating 500 calories a day and workin out to try to burn them.

I had to send a barrage of links to show her how she was slowly killing herself through starvation and exhaustion and she wasn't really losing weight anyway so her methods were wrong, so wrong.

She ended up just eating one meal a day--a large Wendy's chili (gag) and chain smoking. We split, btw.

She was confused bc no one has ever explained deficit, maintenance, gain calorie goals. I told her to get on MFP but noooooo.

Replies

• ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,571 Member
    Options
    You can't force anyone to try to learn. They have to be willing to accept the information. And usually that happens when they come to ASK YOU, not by you telling them.
    I see it on a daily basis. While my job is to assist people in the gym, I don't go around telling them what they are doing is wrong (with the exception of someone doing something possibly dangerous and causing themselves physical injury). I see people do nothing but abs when they come in and still have no waist size reduction or 6 packs. But I'm not going to tell them they are wasting their time. They'll come to me (or someone else) and ask, then they'll learn why.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png
  • Scamd83
    Scamd83 Posts: 808 Member