Replies

• Packerjohn
    Packerjohn Posts: 4,855 Member
    Options
    6AMGANG wrote: »
    ninerbuff wrote: »
    SonyaCele wrote: »
    coffee for me
    Exactly. The hype over pre workout is so exaggerated by many gym socialites who really don't need it, but use it because everyone else does.

This is not true - I didn't use it when I started lifting. Now I do, after being shown - it does improve workout/lifts.

I would suggest fixing your diet/sleep patterns instead of digesting some woo.
  • nordlead2005
    nordlead2005 Posts: 1,303 Member
    Options
    coffee for me
    Exactly. The hype over pre workout is so exaggerated by many gym socialites who really don't need it, but use it because everyone else does.

This is not true - I didn't use it when I started lifting. Now I do, after being shown - it does improve workout/lifts.

a quick perusing of studies show perceived energy, alertness, focus, and increased leg press abilities, but oddly enough no increased bench press abilities.

which, compared to studies on just caffeine, are similar results only the caffeine studies showed increased performance on every lift.

So, pre-workouts beyond some simple caffeine do have greatly exaggerated benefits. As JoRocka put it, some intestinal fortitude and coffee will get you just as far.
  • StealthHealth
    StealthHealth Posts: 2,417 Member
    Options
    I make a batch of fresh ground, cold brewed, double strength coffee (which I keep in the fridge) and take small glassful upon waking when I work out early.

It's cheap, I love the taste, and as a regular coffee drinker I'm pretty adept at manipulating it to get the right hit.
  • 6AMGANG
    6AMGANG Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    coffee for me

a quick perusing of studies show perceived energy, alertness, focus, and increased leg press abilities, but oddly enough no increased bench press abilities.