Next Step?, Bulk/Cut, Skinny Fat? After major weight loss.

Options
fishnc13
fishnc13 Posts: 11 Member
edited March 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
Okay, here is my situation. February of 2015 I weight 292 lbs at 6'2. Around December of 2015 I reached 189 and as of March 2016 I am at 195. My pants size now is mostly a 32x34 or sometime a 34x34 from a 44x34. I lost my weight with a calorie deficit set at 2lbs/week according to MFP. I was also using strength training hardcore last year. I started with a split routine then switched to 5x5 around November 2015. I have put 60lbs on my bench since starting and about 100lbs on my squat. I was a total newb to lifting.

Using this calculator (http://www.webcalcsolutions.com/fitness-calculators/body-fat-navy.asp?acctnum=3) I am at 23% bodyfat and based on comparing pictures I believe it to be accurate. I'm holding most of my fat in my waist (stomach and love handles) and some threw my chest. After doing some math, to get to my goal body fat of 15%, I would need to loose 25.60 lbs of fat which would put me at 169 lbs.

That's too small for me. LoL. I already have people telling me I'm to skinny but it might be because there used to seeing me at almost 300lbs. So at this weight I'm seeking advice as to what to do now. I'm leaning towards a clean bulk but then I'd like to drop these love handles before summer.

So I guess this is a what would you do kind of thing. lol

Should I drop my BF before bulking? I would hate to add more fat but I need more muscle on my frame. I guess this is everyone's problem. lol

Replies

• DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    edited March 2016
    Options
    It's a matter of preference but if you're really 23% and you want a suggestion then I'd keep cutting. Starting out at 23% you are going to end closer to 30%. Going from fat-ish to really fat basically. I've done almost exactly those numbers before. Not fun.