Terminology

Options
Hello all. I'm a rookie and am having a hard time keeping up with some forums because of terminology.

--What's cutting?
--So many suppliments... that one with a "c"...idk, then there are so many brands.
--TDEE? (At least I think it's what I saw)

Those just examples

If anyone can supply me with a breakdown of typical weight gain/nutrient terms, I'd be grateful.

Replies

• ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,529 Member
    Options
    Hello all. I'm a rookie and am having a hard time keeping up with some forums because of terminology.

--What's cutting?
    Reduction of fat to see definition.
    --So many suppliments... that one with a "c"...idk, then there are so many brands.
    Supplements are usually very overated and uneeded in most cases if your nutrition is fulfilled by your food.
    --TDEE? (At least I think it's what I saw)
    Acronym for Total Daily Energy Expenditure. The some of all the calories you burned in a day.
    Those just examples

If anyone can supply me with a breakdown of typical weight gain/nutrient terms, I'd be grateful.
    There's so much. Ask for the ones you want and I or someone else will give you info or definitions.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png

• AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    Cutting: Eating fewer calories than you burn with the goal of losing weight, but more specifically losing fat.
    Bulking: Eating more calories than you burn with the goal of gaining weight, but more specifically gaining muscle.
    Maintenance: Eating the same number of calories you burn with the goal of maintaining your weight.
    Recomping: Eating at maintenance with the goal of remaining the same weight while slowly gaining muscle and slowly losing fat.