Help-Thyroid, Metabolism, and Weight Loss

Hello, all! I wanted to post a quick discussion- I'm in need of some advice. I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism about 2 years ago, and have been on Synthroid ever since. My weight is typically stable around 130 lb. However, since September I have weighed around 140 lb. I have no idea where the extra weight is coming from. My diet is very good (I have cut out diet soda, ice cream, candy in an effort to lose weight, and watch what I eat. I'm actually studying to be a dietitian!), and I can honestly say I'm eating better now than I was when I weighed 130. I'm consistently cold and have issues with constipation, too. Due to all of this, my Synthroid dose was increased about 2 weeks ago. I know it takes time for the thyroid to respond to the medication increase, but I was wondering what others have done to have successful weight loss? I typically do cardio (walk 5 miles, about 4.0 mph) 6-7 days/week, but would like to add strength training to try and improve my metabolism. Any recommended workouts for a beginner?

I'm so frustrated, any advice is appreciated!! Thank you.

Replies

• kirayng2
    kirayng2 Posts: 36 Member
    I would definitely add strength training to your regime, as well as some relaxation/meditation/yoga. I have Hashimoto's and my weight is up and down due to time of year, diet, what I do for exercise, water intake, tons of variables that make consistent weight loss difficult. Also it takes 6 weeks for a dose increase to be effective and if your doctor is only measuring TSH you may have an underlying condition like mine or a T3 conversion issue. Get your full metabolic panel tested after dose increase and also test for antibodies to rule out Hashi's which is an autoimmune disease.