Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

Getting rid of stubborn fat

Options

Replies

• stevencloser
    stevencloser Posts: 8,911 Member
    Options
    arditarose wrote: »
    I have listened to Lyle talk about this, and though I have read RFL I haven't read his Stubborn Fat book. When I first heard him talking about it I thought "You gotta be kidding me man..", especially after reading over and over that you can't spot reduce. I don't know. I wish I could understand the studies better. I just don't have a scientific mind. If anyone reads the studies above and want to provide cliffs because you're bored....

I'm not an expert either but here's the short. Your cells have hormone receptors in them. Different cells have different sorts of receptors and in different amounts in different areas. The alpha adrenergic receptors talked about are more prominent in the stubborn areas and have, among others, the effect that when activated they stop fat cells from giving up their contents for lipolysis. Thus, the idea, that if you stop them from activating, fat should come off more evenly distributed along your body.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    I have listened to Lyle talk about this, and though I have read RFL I haven't read his Stubborn Fat book. When I first heard him talking about it I thought "You gotta be kidding me man..", especially after reading over and over that you can't spot reduce. I don't know. I wish I could understand the studies better. I just don't have a scientific mind. If anyone reads the studies above and want to provide cliffs because you're bored....