Stretching

Options
What exercises and stretches do you normally do before working out? I haven't done any in the past and thinking about starting.

Replies

• snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    I have a 45 min stretching routine that I've been doing before swimming for 20 yrs due to OA. I started yoga last year and have added some of that in. It limbers me up so that I can quickly get to work in the pool or gym. I started out with a book and modified as I went along. You have to tailor stretching to your needs and problem spots (think back trouble, cramping, shoulder mobility, etc). In my opinion, there is not a "one size fits all" program. I'd you-tube and see what works, but I agree that stretching makes a difference.
  • abadvat
    abadvat Posts: 1,241 Member
    Options
    All joints warm up and generic upper / lower body stretching pre.
    Deep stretching of the body part(s) that I trained post.
    Overall between pre and post - 40 minutes ish.
  • Erik8484
    Erik8484 Posts: 458 Member
    Options
    Before lifting I do a short mobility circuit, including prone and supine scorpions, some somersaults and some other things i don't know the name of. It takes about 5 minutes and just gets me warm and loose.
  • Willbenchforcupcakes
    Willbenchforcupcakes Posts: 4,955 Member
    Options
    With the exception of the right axis of my lower cross (hip flexors and hamstrings), as well as my arch, I don't stretch. Being hypermobile means that when I stretch, I have to follow up with stabilization work. Worth it to maintain the balance I've finally achieved in my lower body and to be able to arch the way I do, not worth it anywhere else.

I do a fair amount of mobility work before I lift though. Shoulder mobility before I bench or squat, glute activation before squats and deads, and just generally making sure everything feels loose and ready.
  • robininfl
    robininfl Posts: 1,137 Member
    Options