Runners - Question - what are splits? How do you use them to train? Puffy hands...

Options
Balaru
Balaru Posts: 203 Member
I've been walking a little over 3 miles each day and I do the Map My Run app and it's been giving me "splits". Now keep in mind I am a newbie so I'm just trying to figure this out. (Age 54 - 70 pounds to loose)

Total distance today was 3.27 miles which took 1:01:12 pace 18:44

Then it says Splits Pace/speed
  • 1 mi. - 19.41 min/mi
  • 2 mi. - 18:08 min/mi
  • 3 mi. - 18:26 min/mi
  • 3.27 mi - 18:15 min/mi

So is that okay? Where do I find out more about splits? How do I use this information?

I am working toward a 5K in January. Hoping to run some of it. I have plenty of time to train BUT it get's very hot and extremely humid down here. Also by about mile 2 my hands get puffy and hurt a bit. Nothing serious - any tips to prevent it from happening or to make it go away when it does?

Adding another 2 mile walk in the mornings while I can. Currently in job search mode so I have lots of time on my hands and want to keep it productive.

2 miles in a.m. - 3 miles in p.m.

What do you think?

Replies

• gabbo34
    gabbo34 Posts: 289 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    If you're looking at doing a 5k, you may want to download a C2k5 program. That'll slowly help you build up the endurance you need to run the race. Most programs are 8 weeks, but you have plenty of time so you could repeat some weeks if you need to.

The heat beats down even the most experienced runners more than anything else. So I'd recommend going early in the morning if you live in warm climate. If you do go in the heat of the day, be sure to be very hydrated and listen to your body.

I live in Texas and rarely run later than 9a during the summer. In August it can easily be in the low 80s and humid by 8a.
  • Chiqui74
    Chiqui74 Posts: 72 Member
    Options