Trouble Mixing Protein Powder

Options
MonkeyMel21
MonkeyMel21 Posts: 2,388 Member
edited April 2016 in Food and Nutrition
I started lifting a couple weeks ago and got extremely hungry and weak the first week. So I decided to add in some protein shakes after my lifting days to see if that helps. I bring the pre measured powder in a blender ball bottle and fill it up with hot water when I get to work. One time it blended perfectly and it was the most delicious hot chocolately drink ever, I was pumped! But every other time it's been chunky. I could deal with that, I guess, but today took the cake. I had to toss it, it was so bad. I thought maybe shaking/blending it then letting it set a bit and shaking it again would help. I was so wrong. All it did was make MORE chunks and it took all the flavor out of those chunks to where it ended up tasting/looking/feeling like tiny chewed up chunks of tastless meat. So, so bad. So I decided to ask for tips on here. I got it from GNC and kept the receipt so I can take it back if I need to. But that one single time that it was so good gives me hope that I'm just doing something wrong that is easily fixable. Today I even tried to just put a bit of water in, then shake it first, then add the rest of the water. nope, not it. HALP!

Replies

• kwtilbury
    kwtilbury Posts: 1,234 Member
    Options
    Add water/liquid first, then powder.

My experience mixing protein powder with hot liquids (water, coffee, etc.) hasn't been good. Stick with cold or room temperature liquids.
  • tiptoethruthetulips
    tiptoethruthetulips Posts: 3,361 Member
    Options
    Have you tried cold water or cold milk? I don't think I could handle a hot protein drink.

Could also be the mix/ball bottle not enough shake power. I had one used it once or twice didn't mix enough for my liking.

• MonkeyMel21
    Options