Wear gloves when lifting weights?

Options
When I started lifting in January, I asked my 16-year-old son if I should buy a pair of gloves. He told me gloves were stupid. (He takes a daily weights class at school and no one there wears them.) I took his advice. At first, I was kind of proud of the calluses. They are a great reminder of my hard work and progress so far. Now, they're really starting to hurt. So my question is, "Do you or don't you wear gloves when lifting, and why or why not?"

Replies

• Rage_Phish
    Rage_Phish Posts: 1,507 Member
    Options
    i do not
    wife probably wishes i did
  • giantrobot_powerlifting
    giantrobot_powerlifting Posts: 2,598 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    I don't because they slacken grip and I loose tightness and even if you have gloves on, callouses will still develop. Better to manage the thickness of your callouses. An emory board just out the shower can do wonders for those things. If they get to thick, Xacto knife to trim them down and then the emory board.
  • ew_david
    ew_david Posts: 3,473 Member
    edited April 2016
    Options
    I do not. I found them to be more interfering than helpful. I use chalk, but only for deadlifts.
  • singingflutelady
    singingflutelady Posts: 8,736 Member
    Options
    I don't wear gloves
  • mamasmaltz3
    mamasmaltz3 Posts: 1,111 Member
    Options
    No I don't. I don't want them slipping or interfering with my grip. Also, I compete and they are not legal. Sounds like you need to groom your callouses. Just get a nail file or pumice stone and file them down a bit. Your grip may be causing some of the issue as well. Chris Duffin has a video that he talks about callouses and grip on YouTube.
  • StealthHealth
    StealthHealth Posts: 2,417 Member
    Options
    Nope. Liquid chalk (for dead lifts only).
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    No gloves...learn to grip the bar properly.
  • ShodanPrime