Woman who started at a weight of 175-180

Options
2»

Replies

• grapaj
    grapaj Posts: 136 Member
    Options
    Age 41, starting weight was 179, current is 138. I tracked religiously to lose 40lbs. Then I started lifting heavy and my weight moves around 1-3lbs any given week up or down. I'd like to cut 10lbs of fat but keep lifting. Slow recomp?? Dunno.
  • sweetpea03b
    sweetpea03b Posts: 1,124 Member
    Options

I would LOVE to try zumba...or kick boxing.....hows the zumba going ? Is it true you burn almost 1000 calories per session?

I couldn't really tell you how much Zumba burns. So much depends on your body composition and how enthusiastic you are. I usually give it my all as I love to dance, and MFP usually estimates about 400-500 calories for the class (I think?).
    I should wear a heart rate monitor, but I haven't taken that step yet. All I know is that I enjoy it, the time goes by fast and I leave very sweaty. So give it a try!

[/quote]

5'3 1/2 here... 162lbs... with a goal of 140. I've been gaining and losing the same 10lbs for the last several years. I work out about 4-5days/week with a combo of running, zumba and weight training. I wear a HRM for every workout and can tell you I burn about 500-550 in an hour zumba class. Some days more if we are doing a harder routine and its a warmer month (hotter room = pools of sweat and out of breath!) Good luck to all of you! :)
  • rebeccaahopkins93
    rebeccaahopkins93 Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    I am 5'4 and my start weight was 185 on March 30th. I'm now down to 178.2! I have my calories set at 1400 but almost always eat a net amount of 1200-1300 with my exercise. I go to the gym Monday to Friday and do 20-30 minutes of cardio and 20-30 minutes of strength training. On the weekend, I go for walks on both days. My goal is to just get 30 minutes of exercise on the weekend but I often get way more. Ultimate weight goal is 130-140lb
  • justrollme
    justrollme Posts: 802 Member
    Options