Looking for Swimming Buddies

Options
I'm looking for swimming buddies as that is my sole form of exercise. I looked for a swimming group on here but didn't find one, so I started my own. If you also swim, I'd love to add you to my friends' list or you could check out my group: http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/114043-fitness-swimming

Replies

• chrisbaker383
    chrisbaker383 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    So, I recently started swimming for exercise and I'm convinced this is the best workout. I have questions though, as I'm a beginner. I've been swimming 8 reps of 100 meters while my kids do their swim class and I've lost some weight, but, I'd like to develop abs. Will swimming accomplish this?
  • sarabushby
    sarabushby Posts: 784 Member
    Options
    @chrisbaker383 Swimming is a great all over body workout and can contribute toward improved fitness and a change in your physique, check out this transformation of Gethin Jones through swimming - http://www.coachmag.co.uk/exercises/exercise-plans/4440/gethin-jones-6-week-swim-transformation

BUT the single biggest factor in being able to see your abs is reducing body fat level, typically in men to I think around 14-16%? But I may have that wrong - I'm sure someone will soon correct me ;-) So by all means enjoy your swimming but remember the phrase 'abs are made in the kitchen'.
  • Moxie42
    Moxie42 Posts: 1,400 Member
    Options
    I'm glad I came across this post! I used to be a hardcore swimmer (like, 3-5 hours/day, 6-7 days/week) and have wanted to get back into it (after many, many years). I just joined your group- hopefully this will help get me to actually GO to the pool and swim instead of thinking about it, lol! I bought a new suit, goggles, and cap 2 months ago and haven't used them.