Body fat %

I have one of those body fat % scales. I know they're not madly accurate, but they have to be in the right ballpark, yes? So far I've lost 32lb, which is over 1/7 of my bodyweight. I've also been lifting, and can see muscle. My fat % has apparently decreased only from 39% to 37%. Surely this can't be right?!

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    I read some study recently that found an 8% error in either direction, meaning that you may be anywhere from 29-47%. I really would not rely on those things at all. My scale has had me at the same bf% from the day I got it, 2 years and many pounds ago, before I started lifting weights.
  • robininfl
    robininfl Posts: 1,137 Member
    I don't think they are accurate for everyone.

I use these:
    Calipers
    Online calculators (put in weight, height, measurements, it estimates)
    AND
    the bioimpedence device (like your scale but handheld)

and all of them, for me, are within 2% of each other so I feel that I have a reasonable estimate.

Also, it depends on how much you weigh. Fat as a % of weight is a relative measurement so if you, say, started at 237 and 39% bf, and lost 37 pounds and it was about half fat, half other stuff you would land right at that 37%. Even though, in that example, you would have lost over 18lb of fat. I don't think it's possible to lose only fat...

So I agree the device is most likely wrong, but remember that the bodyfat as a % is relative. You can lose fat, your body weight drops so then the fat % is calculating off a smaller mass.
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,439 Member
    jemhh wrote: »
    I read some study recently that found an 8% error in either direction, meaning that you may be anywhere from 29-47%. I really would not rely on those things at all. My scale has had me at the same bf% from the day I got it, 2 years and many pounds ago, before I started lifting weights.

Same. I don't even look at that number.
  • DanyellMcGinnis