Loosing weight

Options
Hi, I have been using myfitnesspal for a couple years off and on. I quit smoking 5 years ago and since then I just keep putting on weight. I don't eat real healthy and eat out a lot at lunch. I'm not a big salad eater. I am looking for healthy food ideas for lunch and dinner if anyone has any suggestions. I have been drinking a protein shake for breakfast every morning and it seems to curve my appetite. My favorite one is Thrive by Le-vel. If anyone has any suggestions for me please feel free to share.

Replies

• janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options
    You don't need to eat "real healthy" or eat salads unless you want to. Enter your goals and stats into MFP, get a calorie goal, and hit that goal consistently. Creating a calorie deficit will produce weight loss.
  • mommazach
    mommazach Posts: 384 Member
    Options
    Thrive didn't cut it for me. You need to find friends to help support you. Add me if you would like, I have an open diary. Also, it depends on what kind of diet you are doing. Best 3 choices I made for ME were as follows.
    1. No Wheat- No extra Gluten- I don't need it, and I dropped 10 lbs per month with losing these carbs. (before I reset my goal weight)
    2. Lots of liquids- No carbonated beverages. I added a water app on my phone to remind me to drink enough.
    3. Exercise. Get in 30 minutes a day. EVERY DAY! I generally switch types of movement, but I love the afterglow. The diet and exercise combo work, and you can eat back calories burned. I generally eat back about 1/2 the calories I use because I think MFP is a bit generous with calorie counts.