Looking for help and opinions

Options
I'm underweight and vegan, recovering from an eating disorder.

I really want to gain weight and tone up, but I'm not really sure about how to do it!
I'd be a little less vague, but I'm a complete beginner to this and any advice at ALL would be helpful. :(

Replies

• Crazykid23
    Crazykid23 Posts: 1 Member
    edited June 2016
    Options
    Try GOMAD ( approx 3.8l of milk a day) and Focus on your compound lifts and before that search up how to do them step by step online to prevent injury and build muscle.
    I would advice to do full body workouts but the thing is dont give up as DOMS - meaning muscle soreness usually fatigues new lifters as the pain is unbearable to work out again ( You should definitely look into protein shakes to increase your protein since you're a vegan it will be hard to get all your protein solely from just foods!

Good luck :)
  • MakePeasNotWar
    MakePeasNotWar Posts: 1,329 Member
    Options
    It's hard to give advice without knowing anything about you, but certainly increasing the calorie density of your diet will be key to any amount of weight gain.

If it were me I would look to add high calorie but nutrient dense foods, like nuts, seeds, avocados, and whole grain breads. Don't neglect your fresh fruit and veggies, but realize that they are too low in calories to form the bulk of your diet. Dried fruit and fruit juices and cooked greens and vegetables are less filling per calorie than raw, so they are great choices for gaining weight.

You also want to make sure you are getting enough protein to build mass, though you won't need extreme amounts as long as you are eating adequate calories. Beans and grains are good sources of vegan protein if eaten in sufficient quantity, and protein powders like hemp, pea, or rice protein will add concentrated protein without filling you up.

This is only one example, but a typical day of my weight gain diet last year looked something like this: