Postpartum and Struggling

I'm about 5 weeks postpartum. Trying to take things slow. Doing only yoga right now and my main focus is changing my diet. I weigh more than I've ever weighed in my life right now. I'm not huge I'm only maybe ten pounds overweight for my height. But I know I'm going down a bad path. And I want to be healthy for myself and my family.

I am a stress eater. And this is my first son. I've been running on coffee and coke. All day. And snacks. Sugar and caffeine is like all I've been eating. I've tried to replace cravings with fruit or eat in moderation but I simply don't have the will power right now. I find myself extra crazy and irritable more when I try to eat healthy and not snack as much. Taking out my stress on my family. And some days i almost feel like it would be better to become overweight than to be a miserable person all the time.

I'm new to this app and could really use some support. Feel free to add me.

Replies

• TnZMom
    TnZMom Posts: 222 Member
    It is normal to feel emotionally troubled after having a baby. You are sleep deprived, hormone roller coastery, and stressed about doing everything right. Don't feel like you have to do the mom thing perfectly. If you need to set baby down while you take a shower, and baby cries for a few minutes, it's ok. If you just feel like eating sugar, don't be hard on yourself right now. Just concentrate on being healthy. Eat some fruit in addition to whatever snack food you're eating. Drink water along with the coffee. Take a vitamin.

Things will get better with time. You will sleep again someday, promise.
  • 7elizamae
    7elizamae Posts: 758 Member
    I agree with TnZMom -- most of us feel out of whack after our babies are born. Five weeks postpartum can be a challenging time. The sleep deprivation has added up, hormones are still all over the map, and you have a whole new life with your baby. I had a heck of a time with my newborns. I thought I'd never feel normal again!