Heart rate question

Options
Hey chaps and chapesses, i was wondering if anyone had any knowledge of safe heart rates whilst on a treadmill? Being new to running/jogging i am still learning and basically just trying to increase my distance slowly. I am 38 and around 155lbs 5'4 and my resting heart rate is between 58 and 62. I run between 5 and 8k and my heart rate can reach 150-160 on occasion (according to the machine) and a friend mentioned that this might be too high to be healthy especially over a longer period. Is this right? I don't run fast, around 8.9k/hr and apart from shin ache and sweating i feel otherwise fine with even breathing. Am i ok to continue or is my friend right? I have no health issues. Thanks

Replies

• NorthCascades
    NorthCascades Posts: 10,968 Member
    Options
    I ran a 10k a month ago, it took me 62 minutes, my average heart rate during that time was 162 bpm. If I told my doctor, he'd give me a high five.

I did a test once to find my maximum heart rate. Before I got to it, but presumably when I got close, I started to get tunnel vision, and what I was doing became extremely difficult. I got slightly dizzy (not enough to pass out, but enough to take notice) and had to stop. We evolved from hunters and gatherers who often chased prey and ran from predators, I think a normal, healthy person will get too tired to continue before they do any real damage.

Also, heart rate is highly individual.

But if you have any reason to be concerned, talk to your doctor. For real.
  • joannajohnson295
    joannajohnson295 Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    Great thanks, my common sense and existing knowledge thought similar and that i would be huffed and puffed and struggling if it were true but i was bamboozled by their terminology and onslaught if facts lol.
  • Azdak
    Azdak Posts: 8,281 Member
    Options
    Not a problem. Your HR response is perfectly normal.
  • Elise4270
    Elise4270 Posts: 8,375 Member
    Options