Weight loss after surgery

Options
I am 36 years old and had a total knee replacement 6 weeks ago. The meds have completely wiped my appetite out and I am in a vicious pattern of not wanting to eat because I feel sick when I do, so then I take pain meds on an empty stomach and feel sick. I am taking Tramadol now, and before it was Tylenol4. I am down 16 pounds and started back to the gym last week, just using the bike and upper body strengthening. My worry is that I will gain the weight back when I stop taking meds. I am going to try and stop taking them on Wednesday, because Tuesday is my last physical therapy appointment. So, any advice on how to be more careful than normal, so I don't gain those 16 pounds back?

Replies

• FindingLiz016
    FindingLiz016 Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    .I am no doctor and I have never been in your shoes but my brother has!!! He just watched what he ate,drank tons of water and exercise and he is still loosing and feeling better than ever :)
  • ccrdragon
    ccrdragon Posts: 3,365 Member
    Options
    it's all about the diet - since you are worried about it, you will be more aware of what you are eating, drinking, etc. This will actually help you to maintain the weight loss and to continue to lose weight - the thing you really need to do (while you are still on the meds) is to lay out an eating plan that fits your activities and your desired goals - that way you are ready and not caught flat-footed when you come off the meds. You should also go to the store and buy the foods that you want to start eating before you finish the meds - that way you are doubly prepared!
  • ericaconti
    ericaconti Posts: 72 Member
    Options