Spin class during recovery from fractured/sprained ankle

So, long story short as possible: I fractured/sprained my ankle playing tennis 4 weeks ago, was on crutches for 2 weeks, then started physical therapy 2 weeks ago. At my last PT visit, therapist told me still no running, but I can do other activity as tolerated pain-wise. I still have what I consider significant swelling (my foot will only fit in sneakers, not "regular" shoes). I'm anxious to get back to doing cardio other than walking and elliptical.

OK, on to my question. I've never done a spin class before, but a local studio is advertising first class free. Has anyone done a boutique spin class before and if so, how much do you use your ankles and what is the impact like? Would this be something I could do while recovering before I can start running again?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• MostlyWater
    MostlyWater Posts: 4,294 Member
    For years now, I spin 2 or 3 times a week. I ripped three ligaments in my foot in December, was casted, and then in a boot. Physical therapy kicked in around week 6 but I wasn't allowed to spin until much later - and not with a clip in cleat, just a little bit of pedaling on a stationary bike. And that went on for quite a while ....

If and when you DO spin, don't stand for the hills. Standing is hard on the ankle.
  • solieco1
    solieco1 Posts: 1,559 Member
    Ask your PT. I have similar story to the one above. Clipping and out on a bike can be exactly what your healing ankle DOESN'T need. Don't stand on the pedals if you do decide to do it anyway.
  • acbraswell
    acbraswell Posts: 238 Member
    For years now, I spin 2 or 3 times a week. I ripped three ligaments in my foot in December, was casted, and then in a boot. Physical therapy kicked in around week 6 but I wasn't allowed to spin until much later - and not with a clip in cleat, just a little bit of pedaling on a stationary bike. And that went on for quite a while ....