Runners - Do you incorporate walking breaks at all?

Options
Hello!

I started running this summer with the running room. I graduated the learn to run and am now in the 5k clinic. I have worked myself up to 43 minutes of running in intervals. Run 10, walk 1 repeat.

The running room seems to advocate for walking intervals even in their marathon training. I understand the reasoning for them and I will continue to take them as I'm new but is there a point in which it feels less necessary? Or do you start to stretch the intervals out and run 15 minutes and then walk a minute?

I want to run a marathon at the end of next year so it seems like taking a walking break every 10 minutes would really slow me down. Particularly because it takes me 15 minutes to run/walk a mile!

Replies

• deluxmary2000
    deluxmary2000 Posts: 981 Member
    Options
    I personally walk for about a minute every mile during races, but that's mainly to drink water (I can't drink and run).
    However, proponents of the run/walk method do claim (and I believe studies have shown) that it can actually speed you up overall - especially if you're a slower runner.
    I'm a pretty slow LD runner myself (11:30 min miles), and at my last half marathon I was soundly beaten by a group doing a 1:1 run/walk interval the entire race.
  • deluxmary2000
    Options
    Also, 10:1 is a very long run interval for someone using a true run/walk method.
  • King_Spicy
    King_Spicy Posts: 821 Member
    Options
    I've never used walk breaks before except during sprint sessions. Spring 200-800 meters, walk half the distance, sprint again. However, I've also never ran a full marathon before. The farthest I have made it without my legs giving up on me was 18 miles and that was my marathon attempt with no training. I had just been doing 5-10 mile trail runs each day after work.
  • VioletRojo
    VioletRojo Posts: 596 Member
    Options
    rybo wrote: »