Exercising but gaining weight

Options
So ive been exercising for about 2 months now. I was out 2 weeks Bcuz of a surgery but right back afterwards. I drink on weekends but do not smoke anymore, I'm 9 months cigarette free. I do cardio and I switch it up for example.. I do 20 min treadmill 1 min run 3 min walk and over and over. Or I do 12 incline on the treadmill at 2.7 speed which you feel the burn instantly! Then I use the bike around 10 to 15 mins on hill plus . Or the elliptical on fat burn. Then a few weight machine and free weights after. But my issue is I've GAINED 6 lbs. And I'm not happy about it. I'm loving going to the gym it's a lot of fun and I want to keep going bur how can I lose my weight?! I eat decent.. but I don't restrict myself entirely. I eat what I want but I try to not go overboard. Plz help!

Replies

• malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    What do you mean by you eat decent? Are you counting calories?
  • missrabbitt1
    missrabbitt1 Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    I find it hard to believe that I'm eating THAT much though.. it doesn't add up to me. I'm eating the same way I did before I started working out. And I was maintaining my weight quite normally. Now.. it's the opposite.
  • missrabbitt1
    Options
    malibu927 wrote: »

Well yes & no. I do but sometimes don't. There are times I guesstimate without using my app.
  • malibu927
    Options

Well yes & no. I do but sometimes don't. There are times I guesstimate without using my app.

That's where you're going wrong. Start logging everything. If you need to, a food scale will help immensely in getting accurate portion sizes.
  • bethannien
    bethannien Posts: 556 Member
    Options
    Have you been weighing yourself regularly and you've seen a cumulative gain of 6 lbs or did you just hop on the scale for the first time in 2 months and see the jump in the scale? If you hadn't been on the scale in a while, what you're seeing could just be a fluke.