Starting a keto diet. Trying to keep a balanced diet. New to lo carb eating

Options
Hi,
At 275lbs, Ive decided to lose some weight and adopt healthier eating habits. I'm new to the lo carb approach, but I have been researching how the body reacts to restricted carbs and moderate protien and fat. Seems like a healthy way to lose weight. I'm trying to restrict my caloric intake from eating to about 800 calories a day. That is pretty severe for me considering I have generally lived off sweets and carbs. But even though restricting calories, I can agree that, surprisingly, my energy level has increased somewhat. Any tips, constructive comments, advice is welcome.
Thanks
James

Replies

• jumbaco21
    jumbaco21 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I'm trying out keto for the 2nd time. In all honesty, the only reason I stopped was because i fell off the wagon a bit which then led to a lot. Lol. I'm back with a vengeance and ready to try it again with effort. Good luck to you!
  • queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    Healthier eating habits does not equal 800 calories a day. Why not eat as much as you can but still be in a deficit? He who eats the most and still loses is the winner.
  • Firefly0606
    Firefly0606 Posts: 366 Member
    Options
    800 cal per day is very low, not just for you, for anyone. That is the equivalent of skipping 2 full meals per day.

I don't keto, but from what I've read keto doesn't mean extremely low calorie. It means low carb. 800 cal on keto seems like you are trying to do both at once, and not really in a healthy way. My guess is that you'll be binge eating in no time with this approach.

Why not pick one? CICO works well for the majority OR Keto, which works well for people who like it.
  • Dreya1999
    Dreya1999 Posts: 2 Member
    Options