I'm new to MFP

Options
Hello everyone.. Hope everyone is well. I'm all new to MFP. I was hoping that someone can help with my calories. I've set myself for 1800 a day. I'm exercising everyday, I push myself to 50-60 mins a day, around our local park, jogging and power walking, getting in my 10'000 steps.
I quit smoking in November last year, I'm a Slimming World member, and I got to target in October. I gained 5lbs out of target, then I quit the smokes. Over the last 10months, I've gained 10/11lbs. I'm so desperate to get these extra lbs of. I've stepped away from SW for some time, to try and look at my calorie intake and food portions..

I look forward to hearing any advice from you lovely lot.

Regards
Andrea

Replies

• pdm3547
    pdm3547 Posts: 1,057 Member
    Options
    Well done on the healthy lifestyle choices you've made.

Calories in, calories out.If you expend more than you consume, you will lose weight. A lot of people find the structure of SW or WW helps, but not everyone.

Measure and weigh everything. That will help with portion control.

Eat less, move more. Do cardio and get into a lifting plan.

That's it. It's quite simple really.
  • andrea2801
    andrea2801 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    Hi pdm3547 thanks for your reply. I'm heading back to work tomorrow, after 4 weeks off. I'm looking to reduce my calories to 1500.. So with regarding "expend".. I don't want to sound thick, but do you mean, I need to burn more than I consume!!! I always get confused!!!!.. I've started to measure and weigh everything properly over the last 2 weeks, of using MFP..
    I'm still walking an hour a day, around my local park.. and now that I am back to work, I will be doing more, as I walk to and from work, and joining a local Zumba group, mid week.. I've got to be careful as far as lifting at the mo, I've got a very bad shoulder and waiting for an operation.. so I'm restricted to how much lifting I can do..

Thank you.. x
  • RoxieDawn