Opinions on HR Monitors please!

Options
It's my birthday soon (40th) & my work mates want to club together & get me something decent. I've never had a HR monitor before. In fact I don't even know if I'm calling it the right thing. But, I want something to measure calories burnt, distance covered, time etc for when I'm out hillwalking, biking & running. I also strength train with weights in the gym but unsure if there's anything suitable for measuring calories burnt in that situation. Any help or recommendations would be much appreciated!

Replies

• Ready2Rock206
    Ready2Rock206 Posts: 9,488 Member
    Options
    A HR monitor is useless for strength training. They're only for workouts with an elevated heart rate. I bought one when I was a beginner and thought I needed all the cool gadgets. I haven't used it in years. I am not a cardio bunny and I don't feel they're very useful for anything other than knowing your heart rate. If you do decide its for you however - the polar brand is very good.
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    If you ant to be able to measure distances etc you're looking at a GPS watch. I've been a big fan of the Garmin Forerunner series (they make models in a very wide range of prices) for years. (most have built in HRM so you can get distances, pace, heart rate, calories expended and if you're a real data junkie you can get a foot pod for cadence etc)

HRMs are useful for steady state cardio only when it comes to estimating calories expended (you can certainly use one to track your heart rate during strength which may be an interesting metric)
  • Spliner1969
    Spliner1969 Posts: 3,233 Member
    Options