7pm cut off?

Options
Hey all!

I've heard many a time that cutting off your eating day at 7 or 8pm really aids with weight loss. Was wondering if anyone does it or has done it in the past and if you found it to be helpful or too restrictive? Is it something I should try? X

(I'm new to this whole mfp thing, but feel free to add me! I'm looking to build up a little community of people to motivate and be motivated by!

Replies

• LAWoman72
    LAWoman72 Posts: 2,846 Member
    edited October 2016
    Options
    No way. Not I. Sometimes I just have to have yogurt or an egg or something later at night (within my total calories). So far I'm 50 lbs. down, so this has not been a problem for me.

I have a feeling this myth came from people who had been having a snack at night which put them beyond their calorie needs (not an uncommon thing) and simply the act of not adding those night calories onto their total calories during the day helped them lose. It only makes sense that unless you start stoking up at dinner time in retaliation, then not *also* eating later means fewer total calories for any given day.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    Keep in mind that most people out there aren't counting calories...these kind of "rules" are used by many people simply to control calories...but there is no "magic" in the cut off itself...meal timing itself is irrelevant...it's just a way to exercise control over what's coming in.

Also keep in mind that a lot of people eat heavily in the evenings...snack, meals, deserts, etc...it would make sense in the context of calorie control to "cut off" at a certain point to have greater control of what's going on...unfortunately though these things get misinterpreted and go from a control mechanism to some kind of "magic"
  • queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    It's a non-issue. What if you worked the nightshift or graveyard?
  • TR0berts
    TR0berts Posts: 7,739 Member
    Options