Protein allowance controlling everything.

Hi, I'm new to this. I'm on 1200 calories per day. I'm struggling with my protein - I'm always going over. My calories are the opposite, usually sitting around 950/1000. When I try to eat more the protein goes up. Help please

Replies

• Treece68
    Treece68 Posts: 780 Member
    Just focus on meeting your calorie goals and macros later. What is extra protein gonna do ... nothing
  • Cbestinme
    Cbestinme Posts: 397 Member
    Do you have a medical reason to restrict your protein. In another thread I got a really good recommendation to eat about 0.6grams of protein for each pound of goal weight. Are you near 0.6grams of protein per pound of your goal weight? Are you going over on a percentage or on grams. I'm not at all familiar with percentages. Whichever case take anything I share with a grain of salt, it may not apply to your case. Welcome and good luck on your journey!
  • Lizarking
    Lizarking Posts: 507 Member
    edited October 2016
    TBH, you should get as much protein as you can without going over on TOTAL calories. This gets even more important when you are eating with such a dramatic deficit.

Try setting your goals as:

35% protein
    25% fat
    40% carbohydrate

If you prefer low carb:

35% protein
    45% fat
    20% carb

^ Above are super generic guidelines.
  • SLLRunner
    SLLRunner Posts: 12,942 Member
    edited October 2016
    And, in addition to what Paula and Muscelflex said, protein helps maintain muscle mass while eating at a deficit. Up those calories, though.
  • Lounmoun
    Lounmoun Posts: 8,423 Member
    lou_8986 wrote: »
    Hi, I'm new to this. I'm on 1200 calories per day. I'm struggling with my protein - I'm always going over. My calories are the opposite, usually sitting around 950/1000. When I try to eat more the protein goes up. Help please

Meet your calorie goal and don't worry about going over protein.
    What are your protein sources and general diet like though?