Gym routine without free weights

Options
Hello, I'm so sorry if this has been asked before, I did search but nothing specific came up (but feel free to point me somewhere else if appropriate!).
I've rejoined the gym recently and I've been trying to read up on what machines I should be using for certain muscle groups but it's all a bit confusing, especially when there's talk of certain machines targeting primary and secondary muscles etc :/ could anyone give me a rough idea of which weight machines would add up to a full body work out? My plan is full body 3x per week with rest days in between. I don't think there's much point in splitting as I'm just a beginner (if I'm researching that right?) any help appreciated.
Heather

Replies

• samanthamurphy7
    samanthamurphy7 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    Hi,

I usually do a mix of the machines, TRX, kettle bells, medicine balls. etc

One of my mix day workout would be:

legpress
    Adductor and abductor
    Hamstring extension
    Assisted pulllup machine
    lunges with heavy kettle bells
    Barbelll deadlift
    Squat rack with bar only- deep squats
    The thing where you lie forward with a weight across your chest and squeeze glutes to pull yourself back up (don't know the name but its my fave!
    The cable machine for ab workout and glutes
    TRX straps for core and push ups/ triceps

Then finish with abs routine- various different one's.

Look up Scott Hermann on youtube. I think he's great.

Also on bodybuilding.com they have instructional videos for every single move/ machine/ exercise. Really helped me to not feel like such a noob at the gym !! lol
  • rontuueyeslikeafox
    rontuueyeslikeafox Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    Thanks a lot for replying, that's really helpful! I hate how self-conscious I am at the gym, I'm hoping that'll get better as I improve!
  • samanthamurphy7
    samanthamurphy7 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    No problem, the videos will really help! I find they do anyway!