Frustrated!!

I've been yo-yo dieting for years I'm a pro at it. I've been staying pretty consistent for the past 10 years hovering right around 200 gaining and losing 5 pounds consistently. I just started weight watchers two weeks ago I was down to 196 and now I'm back up to 202! I am been following their diet to a T tracking everything and it's not working. When I was using my fitness pal app I was staying between 1350 and 1500 cal and I would lose half a pound to a pound and usually keep it off sometimes gaining it back. I am going back to just using my fitness pal app and ditching the weight watchers. Has anyone tried to do an illumination diet because I think that could be part of my issue because I always have stomach problems going on? This is been going on for years and I have taken a food intolerance test and of course all the good things that I should be eating like brussels sprouts cabbage those sorts of things they say I have a food intolerance to along with all dairy. Just wanted to see what everybody else is doing thinking etc.

Replies

• marm1962
    marm1962 Posts: 950 Member
    Do you mean the elimination diet? I have not done that myself, but might be a way for you to discover what you are intolerant to.
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    It's a good thing to find what you're allergic to, if you are, but allergies has nothing to do with not losing weight. Losing weight is having a calorie deficit and sticking to it. Oh, and forget "good/bad" foods and foods you "should be eating" - I think that may be giving you the same adverse reactions as it gave me. Eat a variety of foods you like that don't make you ill, just eat appropriate portions.
  • ZephieC
    ZephieC Posts: 162 Member
    I did an extensive 6 week elimination diet. My IBS and reflux were out of control and none of my usual treatments were working. Feeling constantly ill was a real challenge...when I feel ill I love McDonald's...not a smart choice!