Treadmill advice

Options
So a week ago I started using my new treadmill I bought and have been doing about 45-55 minutes on it, I started jogging on it about 10 minutes and was so insanely sore for days after, am I pushing myself to hard too fast or should I just start walking again and work my way up to jogging?

Replies

• _NMW
    _NMW Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    Are you a complete beginner, and if so, are you following a program like Couch to 5k? It eases you in by breaking up running segments with walking intervals. Don't set out too fast, your run should be slow (some people walk quicker), it's about getting the muscles used to it and building base endurance
  • dawson002
    dawson002 Posts: 170 Member
    Options
    Same thing happened to me!

Google proper running form so that your not over striding, you have a good cadence and most importantly, your not going too fast. Warming up and cooling down is also essential
  • yondaime8
    yondaime8 Posts: 103 Member
    Options
    Warmup, warmup, warmup ! Before and after effort.
    I was plagued by injuries when I took up running. And every time I realize my warmup routine is lacking.
    Just google around a warm-up routine you see fit, but also a stretching routine after finishing the effort. Make sure you wear a proper pair of shoes too, shoes need to fit weight, distance you plan on running and frequency. All these factors are paramount to prevent injuries. Best of luck to you!
  • LKArgh
    LKArgh Posts: 5,179 Member
    Options