BMR vs BMI

Options
Somewhere I was told that 1200 calories was a good amount for a day I'm not exercising. Then I read on here about BMR and I punched in my numbers and it said I needed 1675 calories a day. (not including my exercise calories)....That seems like a whole lot of calories. I'm new to this whole weight loss "stuff" and I have no clue what is right amount of calories. Can anyone help? Is there any help for me? ....LOL...Just kidding. Honestly, I'm now lost now that I see 1675 calories needed to be eaten to maintain my weight. Could this be why I've only lost 2 pounds in the last month and have been working out 4 days a week? HELP!!!

Replies

• foxxybrown
    foxxybrown Posts: 838 Member
    Options
    1675 would be to maintain. You're trying to lose right? Then you need a deficit. MFP will only go as low as 1200.
  • jheller
    jheller Posts: 194
    Options
    what did you put in for your weight loss per week? and what did you say your activity level is? those will affect what it tells you on how many calories you should consume.
  • treasurep
    treasurep Posts: 88 Member
    Options
    I put 1 1/2 to 2 lbs a week as my goal. I've been going to the gym almost 4 times a week then bowling once a week and some walking. (My profile is open). I've always heard 1 to 2 pounds is a reasonable rate to loose, and I know it sometimes takes a while, but I'm afraid I'm sabatoging my progress by not eating enough.
  • jennylynn84
    jennylynn84 Posts: 659
    Options
    Your BMR is actually the calories your body would use just doing basic bodily functions if you stayed in bed all day. Your actual caloric needs are probably higher than that. Depending on what you entered in for your activity level, there is a different mathematic equation to figure out what you'd need to get through your typical day (including going to work, or doing whatever else would make you categorize your day as "sedentary," "active," or whatever).