Go home, Strava, you're drunk...

Options
oocdc2
oocdc2 Posts: 1,361 Member
I've been using Map My Run for several months now to log my runs. Considering the general rule of thumb that a person burns (roughly) 100 calories/mile, that's been fairly true-to-form when MMR calculates my calories.

After Map My Run crashed on my phone (it was a phone thing), I installed Strava to compare. Beloved, Strava graciously gifted me with 160 extra calories for the same distance (6 miles), pace, everything. This clearly needs more research (i.e., more runs), but have others had this issue?

Part of it may be that I don't use a fitness tracker, just my phone's GPS, but that's a big difference. I'm considering re-installing MFP only because I'd rather log my exercise calories on the conservative side than eat back too many.

Replies

• stealthq
    stealthq Posts: 4,298 Member
    edited March 2017
    Options
    Curious if you entered your weight in Strava and if you've sync'ed an HR meter (and Strava is set to use it in calculating cal burn).

Calories burned per mile depends on your weight. That may be the difference if you weigh > 150lbs.

Or, if you use an HR meter, Strava can use it to 'help' with the calorie calculation. Found out about that when the thing was doubling my run burns. I have a high max HR, so my moderate efforts look like I'm sprinting to Strava. I had to turn off that option in the settings to get anything that looked even close to realistic. But then, I don't use the estimation anyway. I prefer the standard calculation:

0.67 * weight in lbs * miles run = net calories burned

I forget the gross calories calculation - that's what would compare best to MFP, Strava, etc.

ETA: for Enginerd's correction - yes, it's 0.63. Apparently, my memory sucks.
  • The_Enginerd
    The_Enginerd Posts: 3,982 Member
    edited March 2017
    Options